steering damper?

Technical stuff specific to the Raptor 1000
luke7

steering damper?

Post by luke7 »

Hi
Im looking for a steering damper for my raptor and i cant find any.
can anyone help me?
has anyone put one on their bike?

thanks
snapdragon

Re: steering damper?

Post by snapdragon »

Hi Luke, welcome in :) why do you feel the need for a damper? something wrong?

no help I know, sorry! I've no experience with them.
It's only been specifically bad road conditions:- deisel with rain; and gravel with white lines, that have made her tankslap.
SnappY
~~X~X~{:>
Demansia
On the Road

Post by Demansia »

I agree with Snap, sort your suspension with a few of the tips found here on the forum & you'll find no need for a dampner.
In my experience dampners are a band-aid solution for suspension flaws & reduce feedback from the front end.

No help either i know, just my 2 cents worth.

Chad
Nothin like V-Twin Grin!!
Miz
On the Road

Post by Miz »

FYI

The Xtra has one fitted as standard, and there is one being broken on this site and ebay at the moment.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWAX:IT
152/999
Evil Twin
On the Road

Post by Evil Twin »

Welcome Luke
I thought I need one too when I first got the Rap but after raising the rear no issues.
Like Demansia said sort your suspension and you'll be better of
The bike made me do it!
dizzyblonde
On the Road

Post by dizzyblonde »

The bumps and lumps of Yorkshire roads would have shown up any reason for needing a steering damper.....but I can say the same thing as the others, theres not really any need for one.

Whats the reasoning behind you wanting one?
Yellow 2001 SV650s,2002 VRaptor
Your Rapter looks like a sci fi robot dragon! and it breaths fire too! It singed my eye brows and boiled my eyes at the lights! smudge
weirdo
On the Road

Post by weirdo »

Hello Luke, you'd need to go quite a long way from standard settings to actually NEED a damper on a rap, either that or something just aint working properly.