thermostat for the 1000

General spannery stuff

Moderators: shebee, snapdragon, Moderators

User avatar
Crap Tartan
On the Road
Posts: 1666
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Sitting in front of the screen in Portpatrick again

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Crap Tartan » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:26 pm

The ECM uses the o/p from the IAT to decide what map to use depending on temp, the thermostat in the radiator is only to switch the fan when required i believe. The other thermostat just opens the cooling cct.

Anyway i have my pot wired in parallel to the IAT sensor to frig its o/p to the ECM
nil illigitimae carborundum

TLPower
On the Road
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:11 pm

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by TLPower » Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:51 pm

Great minds..........http://www.tlzone.net/forums/help-forum ... d-map.html think alike.

Thanks for the link to the variable resistor.

Works like a charm.

Now to fit a TLS 1000 ECU.

Cheers.

ozzraptor
On the Road
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by ozzraptor » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:01 am

Crap Tartan wrote:glad the mod has worked for you too!

I have a variable pot in my black box so i can fine tune in the future if I want to (its a 0-2.5k res)
Crap tartan black box :toocool: , just remember to switch off for cold start! Now i am getting one of these fan switch!

User avatar
Spyke
On the Road
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:22 pm
Location: Down Under

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Spyke » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:47 am

Hmm, well after reading this thread I'm a little confused, it's a bit over my head TBH. :?

My 3k glitch has gotten worse since I changed the coolant - bike used to take 5 mins to warm up, she now takes a bit longer. However it isn't a such a drama that I've felt the need to "do something" as yet, it just means I set off in temperature mode, then switch to trip meter once it's warmed up. My remaining fuel guesstimate is usually more important to me as I do long free-flowing country runs, bike temp usually reads 100ish I think, I suspect the fan only ever kicks in on the very rare occasions I get held up at traffic lights. My rap is my weekend warrior and my POS duke is my commuter. I'm generally a "less is more" kinda person so I'm not that motivated to add a black box and fan switch to my list of things I've mucked around with, but the idea of using a thermostat that "opens later" to get the bike up to temp and past the 3k glitch more quickly does seem to have potential. Can someone please explain if this is possible or will the ECM still force the 3k glitch due to its programming or even move the glitch somewhere else?
Road racing's where it's at - going round in circles all day is for hamsters.

User avatar
Crap Tartan
On the Road
Posts: 1666
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Sitting in front of the screen in Portpatrick again

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Crap Tartan » Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:54 am

Spike, the black box I use and many other on here gets rid of the symptoms of the 3k glitch by fooling the ECU into thinking the engine is running much hotter thus the ECM moves onto the smoother map.
The switch just switches the variable resistor in/out of the IAT circuit in parallel.
This allows you to control its operation and do cold starts without the circuit switched in.
The variable resistor is a bit of overkill really as a set value resisitor would work just as well in parallel but it does allow fine tuning of the circuit to compensate for differances in other peoples bikes, ambient temperature and ECM settings.
I dont have the fan override switch, never felt the need but I am in a colder climate.
Lots of people on here have now fitted my black box and everyone has noticed the differance in that the 3k glitch no longer has to effect your riding.
There are a number of threads about it so read away and make your own mind up mate.
nil illigitimae carborundum

User avatar
Spyke
On the Road
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:22 pm
Location: Down Under

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Spyke » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:45 pm

Ah, thanks CT, it seems like the ECM is really the boss then. :boss:

The glitch isn't a biggie for me for the moment - by the time I get out of town she's warm, and by the time I've stopped and had my coffee she's still a bit warm, but I'll put a black box onto my "maybe someday" list!
Road racing's where it's at - going round in circles all day is for hamsters.

User avatar
Crap Tartan
On the Road
Posts: 1666
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:23 pm
Location: Sitting in front of the screen in Portpatrick again

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Crap Tartan » Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:15 pm

make one up, its less than a tenner in parts and even if you have it fitted, its up to you if you turn it on or not!

Wired up and fitted it does nothing to the bike unless you switch it on....................

Switched on, its byebye to 3k glitch forever...........................

YOU decide :tumbleweed: :whistle: :smoke:
nil illigitimae carborundum

User avatar
Spyke
On the Road
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:22 pm
Location: Down Under

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Spyke » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:34 am

Very tempting, but I have way too many projects on the go already. Dunno how I ever had time to work! BUT if I make the progress I expect to make with my lenses this week I may be in the market for one of yours round chrissy!
Road racing's where it's at - going round in circles all day is for hamsters.

turbomart
On the Road
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 8:00 am

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by turbomart » Thu Nov 27, 2014 10:21 am

I fitted a hotter thermostat to my 1000 not because of any glitch but because of fuel economy and trying to reduce wear and tear. Motors wear more when they are below operating temp.
I used the stock (91 deg celcius) thermostat from a daihatsu charade 3cyl. but it also fits a lot of other cars including a lot of small suzukis.
The Rap heats up slightly faster now but most importantly it stays above 80 deg even on cold days on the hwy.
I used to tape up 2/3 of the radiator and it often still didnt stay warm.
Ive not noticed any negatives , the motor doesnt get any hotter on hot days than before and the thermostate was a straight fit.
It wasnt all that hard to fit as some have said, took me about 15 min once the tank and seat was off.

User avatar
Spyke
On the Road
Posts: 843
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:22 pm
Location: Down Under

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Spyke » Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:43 am

Thanks turbomart, it's handy to know the Daihatsu part's a fairly straight swap. I certainly don't have a problem keeping her warm, this is all good food for thought.
Road racing's where it's at - going round in circles all day is for hamsters.

Anakist
On the Road
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:22 am
Location: The Colonies

Re: thermostat for the 1000

Post by Anakist » Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:24 am

turbomart wrote:91c Thermostat
Got the part number for it? Easier to eBay for one with a part number!

James

Post Reply