Engine dies...

General spannery stuff
Grumpy
On the Road

Engine dies...

Post by Grumpy »

Engine dies when throttling back.
Its happened a few times now and its accompanied with a strong whiff of fuel...and some misfiring on restart. My guess its a carb related problem, anybody got any ideas?

Here is a link to some video I shot of the problem. :x

[youtube][/youtube]
snapdragon

Re: Engine dies...

Post by snapdragon »

Mine's not carbed so I have no experience of that particular issue - jet blockage or diaphragm damage maybe?
with luck someone will and will have some ideas for you :revrev:
SnappY
~~X~X~{:>
Grumpy
On the Road

Post by Grumpy »

OK, I use the word carb loosely. lol Perhaps accuracy would get me better results. :oops:

I should say its a 650 ie. circa 2007.
snapdragon

Post by snapdragon »

tank breather/drain?
there's a hole in the lower left of the front pot that on some has been found partially blocked and needs a fine drill bit or wire rasp pushed through to clear it and let the tank breathe (and let water out)
fingers crossed someone more technical will be along soon
SnappY
~~X~X~{:>
Grumpy
On the Road

Post by Grumpy »

I discovered the drain problem not long after i got the bike when i washed it for the first time.
Bloody ridiculous arrangement!!! Took ages to unblock it and it might have had some bearing on the problem now, especially if water did get in to the tank.
You would have thought that the Italians could have done a better job designing that little gem, cause it never rains here...it bloody pours! :roll:
Dante
On the Road

Post by Dante »

How are the spark plugs?
Is the idle speed set at the right rpm and not too low?
Throttle body sync has been checked?
For how many kms do you have this problem?
Since its a 2006 ie its injection and not with carbs...
Grumpy
On the Road

Post by Grumpy »